Technology is the winner at the ‘Noise Oscars’

A ‘quiet technology’ provider was rewarded for its innovation at the prestigious 11th annual John Connell Awards, dubbed the ‘Noise Oscars’, last night by the Noise Abatement Society.

The awards are named in honour of the Society’s founder, John Connell OBE, who successfully lobbied the Noise Abatement Act through Parliament in 1960 when noise became a statutory nuisance for the first time in the UK.

The ceremony took place at the House of Commons and was hosted by Mike Weatherley MP for Hove and Portslade on behalf of the Noise Abatement Society (NAS) Trustees, and are designed to recognise and promote innovative ideas and initiatives that have made a positive impact on the reduction of excessive noise in the community, helping to improve the aural environment.

 Gloria Elliott, chief executive of the Noise Abatement Society, said:

“It was very difficult to judge the winner from the high standard of entries that we received, but the overall winner of the Technology award demonstrated a pioneering and innovative approach that addresses noise pollution from a unique standpoint.”

The Technology Award is sponsored by the Institute of Acoustics and applauds the vital role that industry can play in reducing noise pollution in our environment.

Winner: Linde Frostcruise Cryogenic in-transit refrigeration system

FROSTCRUISE™ is an efficient, economical, cryogenic in-transit refrigeration system. It provides an eco-friendly solution for the transportation of perishable chilled and frozen food, based on the use of liquid nitrogen (LIN) as the refrigerant. FROSTCRUISE™ is low-noise and operates much more quietly than diesel-operated refrigeration systems and can therefore be used to deliver at night or at early hours.

Highly Commended: Echo Barrier

Echo Barrier is a temporary acoustic barrier designed for use on major construction projects to reduce problems of excessive noise pollution from work sites. The Echo H1 acoustic barrier literally soaks up sound around it rather than reflecting it, attenuating noise by up to 30dB. Designed for quick and easy installation on standard Heras fencing or similar, the H1 is aimed at sites where it is important to reduce noise levels and maintain good community relations, such as in residential and public locations. The benefits of reducing on-site noise using Echo Barriers are considerable, including reducing the likelihood of noise complaints, creating a more productive working environment, and extending site operating hours and ultimately significant cost savings.

Gloria Elliott, congratulated the recipients:

“We have been encouraged by the number of technological advancements which consider noise mitigation as part of their functionality. This year’s winner, Linde Frostcruise considers good acoustic design to be also a vital part of environmental sustainability. We have also recognised Echo Barrier for the technology which will protect many residents from work site noise.”

Trevor Cox, President, Institute of Acoustics (IoA), added:

“The Institute of Acoustics is the UK Professional Engineering Institute that deals with noise, and is active in research, education, environmental health and industry. Part of our work is to encourage governments to consider the acoustic-implications of legislation and regulations, to improve how the UK sounds. After all, noise has many deleterious affects such as damaging health, reducing attainment in schools and causing annoyance. With good engineering and design much can be done to reduce noise and its effects. Many Institute of Acoustic members deal with the complex problems of noise ‘on the ground’ working on behalf of both noise generators and sufferers, and so we are delighted to sponsor an award which promotes innovative technology to reduce noise.”

The award was sponsored by The Institute of Acoustics, and had a separate judging panel, comprising of:

  • John Hinton OBE, Chair of Judging Panel, past President of The Institute of Acoustics (2008-2010) and a recipient John Connell Lifetime Achievement Award 2009
  • Gloria Elliott, Chief Executive, the Noise Abatement Society
  • Max Dixon, Town planner and urbanist specialising in noise and soundscape management, formerly of the Greater London Authority and recipient John Connell Lifetime Achievement Award 2009
  • Trevor Cox, president of the IoA, and recipient of last year’s John Connell Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Alan Blissett, environmental health officer at London’s Southwark Council and recipient of last year’s John Connell Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Stephen Crosher, technology expert for renewable and environment sectors
This entry was posted in Media Releases. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.